Shortly before 12 midnight, my husband and I sat across each other and started our evening date (FINALLY!). I talked hubby into this last week but I was on the brink of cancelling it. Midnight is a bit too late for a dinner date isn\’t it? 😂

For parents like us who can\’t get out without the baby, an indoor dinner date is just as exciting. Seriously, why didn\’t we think about this before?

Merely minutes ago, Darla was showing no signs of sleeping soon and it was past 11pm. Our very alert toddler was still watching her latest movie obsession, Mulan (the 2020 film 😁) while simultaneously re-enacting the scenes – complete with props hehehe. Eventually, she got cranky and by the time I took her upstairs for bedtime, in a matter of minutes she was knocked out. So was I hehe. 

Our little warrior, loyal, brave and true 🥰

I almost stood up my handsome date, but I pushed myself to wake up, get dressed (yes, my idea too hahaha) and go downstairs. Nevermind the hair, left it as dishevelled as it was. Food was prepared already. Besides, we really needed this rendezvous.

The handsome date wondering what the chef put in his dish 😆

It\’s funny. We haven\’t dated in a long time so it feels awkward. Once the food were settled on the table (by the chef and the maitre d\’ which were none other than US 😆) we were snickering at each other like kids. If only hubby could say, \”This is ridiculous!\” (and it was) but he knows better than to verbalise that.

Anyway, the objective was to enlighten my husband about our budgeting. You know how in relationships, there is that one person who controls the money? The husband may be the CEO, he gets the last say in decision-making but I am the CFO. I established the rigid policies especially in spending hehehe.

Cheers to resourcefulness 🍷

After the food was gone, I can tell that the hubby was getting sleepy and ready to retire to bed. But I was just getting fired up. I just learned about this personal finance management thing that could actually work for our situation. This deserves a post of its own hehe.

In my excitement, I think the date ended more like a classroom one on one lesson where I was the strict teacher who would scold her student at the tiniest signs of not paying attention. 

Just kidding (half kidding hehe, I did get very serious and passionate 😝). To wrap it up, I gave him the task to manage our diet on the other hand. Other than money management, weight loss was our other immediate goal.

Steak night for week 1 of dinner date.

Afterwards, I became the maitre d\’ again, took the plates away and cleaned the table. Dinner date was done. The beauty of doing it indoors was that we could go to sleep right after.

But this isn\’t the end of it. For the next 4 weeks, we will hold another one. Then it would be monthly for the rest of our lives (hopefully and God willing). Maybe someday, we can actually go out to a proper restaurant but while we can\’t leave Darla yet, indoor dates will do. It\’s not so bad after all.

It\’s a good way to be in touch with each other and for parents like us, don\’t let having a baby hinder you from having alone time. It\’s a great opportunity to talk, make plans and just connect.

Until our next date night which I\’ll share again on my succeeding posts!

Your comments make me happy :)

I’m Sassy Girl

…at least to someone. I’m an overthinker. I need a journal to write down my unsolicited thoughts and opinion.

Let’s connect