It’s emotional. When Darla started school early this year, she was just a baby. You can distinctly see that the baby like features from her first photo (taken on the first week as her profile picture) has blossomed into the friendly little girl with shy eyes. Her friendship with both her classmates and teachers has helped her grow into who she is becoming. I see an affectionate, helpful, and courageous person in her young heart.

When we left her school this afternoon, for the last time, I felt heavy hearted. We won’t be seeing this place anymore as Darla moves to a school closer to us next year. Demi and Daisy both grew up in St Marys. The school grounds housed so much tender memories for us and even more so for the girls themselves. Some 9 years ago, we were dropping off Daisy in the very same pre school classroom Darla went. We’ve watched many Easter or Book Week parades, evening Disco, farewells, and Year End Presentations. Even their Lolo and Lola had been part of their school adventures once upon a time. Today, it felt like a chapter closed and all that were realities before had turned into memories, finally.

Sometimes, everyday is so common we don’t notice the subtle changes that happen in between the noise. Closures like this however, they can be eye openers and it’s a shock to be reminded that time flies. I knew Darla was growing up, but not at this rate. Too fast! The change in her physically, and even her demeanour, had been notable. She is the baby of the family. Our last baby. My husband was right. For now she occupies most of our time and energy. Her mess and innocent antics, exhausting at times, are our source of joy. Sooner than we can tell, her demands will die down, she will mature and be kempt. Then we will be left with more quiet times. But it is those quiet times that I must dread. For in those instances, we’ll be reminiscent of this messy and much happier present moment, and our hearts will ache with longing and nostalgia. I might wish with all my might to be present in this crazy messy life again, and I know I won’t have it and my whole being will be overcome by a tender sadness.

So yes… Darla’s last day in school. It’s not just a simple Pre School graduation. To a parent like me, it’s a gentle reminder, to slow down. Because the days may be long but, trust me, the years are short.

Savour the present moment because one day, this will just be memories… ❤️

Your comments make me happy :)

I’m Sassy Girl

…at least to someone. I’m an overthinker. I need a journal to write down my unsolicited thoughts and opinion.

Let’s connect