Swimming Party Success

After a few stressful weeks of preparation for Demi and Daisy’s conjoined birthdays, I can’t believe it had finally come and gone and looking back at the memories captured in pictures, I had to smile in contentment and say it was quite a success. With a little help from my friends at the office, especially Rhen who contributed a great deal in transforming the cut-out of fishes from downright simple to remarkably beautiful, all our efforts paid off when the master plan laid out in my mind was finally executed. And the outcome?

Not bad 🙂 Well, the shelf supposed to be for television set made the task easier and the result better than the table I had in mind. What luck! Haha. The design excluding the cake costed only P250. 😉 It was more than I could expect for and so we all started calling it my masterpiece hehe… But I had to admit, behind the simplicity of the final outcome was a series of stressful planning and execution.

First and foremost, the idea of a swimming party came up way back in May when I realized how much the kids enjoyed the Company outing and then the recent love of the kids for Little Mermaid. Looking for resorts and trimming down the expenses required time to visit the places I’ve browsed at the internet. We initially checked Club Serene, but the place seemed neglected except for their very accommodating staffs. We considered Casanjo next, but the place was too small. The kids needed to have a place where they could stroll. Bosay Resort proved to be worth the final choice and although I scowled in the beginning at the expense (VIP rooms required an extra cottage rent), my hesitation faded the minute we visited the place. The resort improved and expanded a great deal since we last went swimming there in 2009. The whole place was neat and the rooms were clean and tidy. Bosay is definitely worth recommending at its current state. 🙂 So one week before the celebration date, we reserved the room thus settling one hassle down.

Next, making the decorations took weeks of shifting from office to deco work. It took time to complete the cut out fishes, from choosing the “right” sketch to print, to coloring, to pasting onto cardboards, to highlighting the edges and finally, cutting and glittering them. Then, there’s the strain of finding the right materials at the lowest costs possible. Good thing, there’s this new party supplies store in front of our village where I got most of the deco supplies (plus a few gift items) for only P94! Again, what luck! 🙂 This step was polished, believe it or not, a day before the swimming itself.

Then there’s choosing the food stuff and cooking them ourselves which needed more than the effort I thought. Here, credits go to my dearest husband, our constant chef. To ate Rizza, too, for offering to cook the hotdogs herself. Hehe.

Finally, the most breathtaking hassle was transporting the cake to the resort room. Because Goldilocks bakeshop doesn’t open until 830am, we decided to bring the cake home the night before. The other problem arose when we realized that the cake won’t fit inside the fridge. To add more anxiety, the storekeeper said that the icing will melt easily at room temperature. Sure enough, the edges at the front were starting to sag in the morning, but that was all. When we finally had the cake at the center of my “masterpiece,” I can’t help but smile and sigh in relief. 🙂

After putting the place in order by 7:30am, ate Rizza, Yanah and I killed time while Nilo picked up the kids who were still sleeping at home. There was so much to explore I could hardly wait until the kids arrived.

Mesmerized by the abs... hehe...

Anacondas!

Beautiful morning sunlight...

Waiting for the kids by the entrance

By 9am, the kids finally arrived to our delight. They still had puffy eyes from sleep but their smiles and joys are not to be missed. Precious and priceless!

When the kids entered the room, it was just as I had pictured out in my mind beforehand: bubbles everywhere, the kids jumping in joy (except that Daisy’s still too young to capture everything that’s going on), and “Under the Sea” playing in the background. There was just one mistake. The bubbles took their attention that I had to highlight the cake and the deco before the kids notice them. I guess that’s the pay-off for overdoing the effects (haha). After settling the excitement down a little, they dressed into their mermaid costumes. Too bad, they can’t swim in the water with their fins on. But rules are rules and at least they got to keep the mermaid tops on. 🙂

All in all we had a wonderful time swimming and strolling around, taking photos at every picturesque corner. Daisy loved the water too much that whenever we took her out to go to another pool, she’d chant “Wi-Ming-Pool” until she’s back into the waters. It was so funny. Demi, on the other hand, didn’t take her nap at all, even when her sister and cousin, ate Yanah, took their afternoon naps by 3pm. When the kids woke up, we took the remaining hours packing up and strolling some more. How time flew so fast when you’re enjoying! Soon afterwards, we had to go home. Although we were still hankering for more, we were all too exhausted to extend so we decided to call it a day. Yup, we were all dog-tired but we all went home happy and contented.

I don’t know about the others, but I’m feeling a little sad. I prepared for this special day for weeks and then it’s over in a flash. This morning before I left home, I teased my husband that I had to be early to cut some more fishes. He just laughed at my usual folly but deep inside, I really meant it hehe. I’ll kind of miss the things I did, stress, hassles and all to make this special day a successful one for the kids.

Meanwhile, I think I’ll keep myself distracted with other projects for the fast approaching holidays. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Swimming Party Success

Your comments make me happy :)

