Birthday Gift

Last Friday, June 10, I turned 28. Although it was my birthday, I didn’t wake up unusually excited. For me, it was just an ordinary day. I was contented just to see my dear and kids, first in the morning, when I woke up and that was more than enough happiness.

I didn’t even take a birthday leave. I went to work and was busy because the 10th marks the deadline for monthly FS. Fortunately, I completed the report right after lunch and by 4:30pm, I couldn’t wait to go home and be with my beloved family.

On the way, I was thinking of stopping at Ever or Big-R for a cake at least to treat the kids but I was reluctant at the same time. This would delay me and I really couldn’t wait anymore to be with them so I decided to just head home and postpone the buying of the cake for later.

At last, I was home sweet home 45 minutes later. I knocked real hard on the door to trick them into thinking that it was the water delivery boy. I often did this when I’m early from work to surprise them. Quite unusual though, I waited for a minute yet nobody opened the door. So I knocked again, in the same manner. Still silent. Finally I dropped the joke and just knocked, continuously now, though still patiently (hehe) but I was starting to think, were these people becoming deaf? Finally the door opened and to add more queer, it wasn’t my husband who did it but ate Edna. I said “ang bingi-bingi nyo” (hehe) and was about to ask “di nyo nga talaga naririnig?” when out of the corner of my eye, I saw red roses. Then I was dumbstruck as my husband and the kids started greeting me “happy birthday.”

The table was set. It was just a simple dinner of spaghetti, chicken and fries plus cake for dessert but the effort really melted my heart. 🙂 I am so lucky to have such a sweet husband. Not to mention, the red roses and cards.

Cards from my Dear and Babies 🙂


Demi's 1st time to write her name all on her OWN!

So far, this is the most unforgettable birthday I’ve ever had. This was my first birthday that we were complete as a family. And I thank God for giving me this gift.

4 thoughts on “Birthday Gift

  1. Pingback: Parting Is Such Sweet Sorrow 2011 | Memoirs of a Sassy Girl

  2. Wow, I can feel the happiness as I am reading each word in this post. I also don’t go on vacation leave on my birthday, I don’t really know why 😉 But to have those little pleasant surprises… priceless!

Your comments make me happy :)

