Confessions of a Tiangge-holic

So much has been going on with our lives individually and so Bes and I decided to meet again, catch up and unwind. The venue? Tiangge at QC Circle! I was so excited to see this place promoted by none other than Bes herself of course. The last time we met in October to see their house-for-rent in Binangonan, she told me about this cute dress she bought for only P75! Well cute and inexpensive seem like a good combination so it really excited me to check the place myself. Last Friday, after office hours, she finally took me to this interesting place hehe.

Before we went there though, I had to account first the interruptions hehe. Bes is a very successful and busy woman thus interruptions are inevitable. 😉 Not that it bothers me, I actually enjoy having a glimpse of my Bes as Director. She told me that there was a change in her schedule and she had to give some documents to her staff, while tagging me along haha! Believing that this incident is a trouble for me, she voluntarily commits herself to a penalty of Coke Float and Fries! Yum. If only I was a bit more wicked, I’d have acted in exaggeration and get another free Sundae! Hahaha :p

Well as it turned out, it didn’t take us too long. Her staff was a little late but we didn’t mind waiting. At least, I didn’t. Killing time was easy while eating the treats away and before I even noticed, he had arrived. I’d say the boy had to thank for my presence or he’d have gotten scolded real bad (for being late among others haha). Soon afterwards we were making our way to QC Circle.

We noticed that the vendors were just setting up their posts and thought that we were a bit early so we decided to eat first… ok… again (smile). No, we were not being gluttons (hehe just being defensive).Take note: we only ate float and fries so there was still plenty of space. Upon Bes’ recommendation again, we tried out the Coconut House where every dish they serve has some coconut ingredient in it. Interesting! There were so many delectable dishes like Laing, even Barbecue and Pansit, I think, ALL containing the coconut ingredient. Since we were not too hungry, we skipped the rice meals and tried my favorite, calamari with sour cream dip and coconut atsara. We tried but one dish and the verdict? Delicioso! Not that my recommendation matters, after all, the Coconut House had been featured in various TV programs, including Rated K. Right next to every resto is an ice cream station. This should be the perfect dessert complement but too bad, the station has closed. I guess we lingered quite too long over the calamari hehehe.

Yummy Calamari =)

Well anyway, while we were walking the QC Circle grounds, Bes and I were contemplating whether we should wait or just go to UP Tiangge instead. I was hitting for another penalty because of this misinformation by Bes but she wouldn’t let me hehe. By the looks of it, Tiangge proper would be starting by Saturday morning already so we just took a cab and went to UP.

Contradictory in UP, the Tiannge stores were starting to close. 😦 Only a few stores were open. There were hardly any toys I could buy for Dem and Dais nor clothes or the cute dress that all started this Tiangge adventure and I even brought a large tote bag for this! (hehe). I didn’t go home empty though, I had boxer shorts for Nilo and white under blouse for myself. 🙂 But I had to say it wasn’t the shorts that made Nilo happy but the tasty isaw I bought home for him. For the rest of our bonding, we spent the night away eating isaw and sipping drinks over Bes’ profound thoughts (hehe).

Manong Isaw =) hehe

As usual, we had another wonderful time spent together. Her brief sharing of a few business projects in the future kept me excited up to this moment. Well, these projects involve arts and creativity, that’s why. And the journal correspondence we first started in High School? We’re continuing it right now, this time our notebooks were far more expensive such as the one Bes chose. I used to remember that composition notebook with Bananas and Pyjamas on the cover hahaha! I think I still had that notebook with me. Well, it didn’t matter whether I had bought only a handful or nothing from Tiangge just like it didn’t matter whether we had nice or cheap journal notebooks. What mattered was that we were able to share again the events in our lives, bad or good. After all, come December, there will still be more chances for us to go shopping Tiangge! Until then! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Confessions of a Tiangge-holic”

  1. Jen!!!! I went hungry over this. I suddenly want calamari and that famous UP isaw. I agree, more than the shopping and escapades, what matter more is the company of a great friend.

      1. Talaga? Natuwa naman ako 🙂 Mas honored ako because you welcome me… I would love to join the two of you. At promise, I’m really drooling for isaw and calamari now with the pictures

Your comments make me happy :)